Breakfast / Healthy Eating / Healthy Recipes

The Amazing Orange Spinach Basil Smoothie

Hi everybody! The last couple of weeks, I have made somewhat of a significant change in my diet. I have been vegetarian since I was about 4 years old (of my own decision surprisingly!) and have loved incorporating whole, healthy and delicious foods into my diet. I have always loved dairy products (cheese especially), but a little over 2 weeks ago I decided to try my hand at veganism. Initially, I thought I would suffer. I mean, alot. I didn’t think I could go without cheese or ice cream or my favorite snack foods (TJ’s Kettle corn that has sugar in it and isn’t organic). However, I have really come to embrace this lifestyle after all and am truly enjoying discovering new recipes, new blogs, and new ways to eat my favorite foods (vegan mac and cheese wassssupppp).

Anyways, last night we went out to a pretty darn good Indian restaurant with some friends, and I just had to have Cashew Mutter Paneer (peas and paneer with cashews). It obviously isn’t vegan, but since I’m just experimenting with being vegan, I don’t chastise myself too harshly if I break it. I have to say though, that paneer IS SO GOOD. Seriously.

I guess that story leads up to this morning….. in that I made this amazing Orange Basil Spinach Smoothie to start my day off right and wake up my tastebuds. I saw this recipe in one of FullyRawKristina’s videos, and it jumped out at me so I had to try it. It seemed like such a spring-y smoothie too! Speaking of being raw, I have been watching tons of Raw vloggers on youtube such as Kristina, Freelee the Banana girl, and the like. For some odd reason I’m fascinated with their lifestyle, though I would never pursue it myself. Every time I watch one of their videos though, I’m compelled to grab a giant bowl of fruit or veggies, because they are so in love with them!

IMG_9961
IMG_9959
IMG_9958

I think I’ve talked enough for today. Smoothie time. 🙂

The Amazing Orange Spinach Basil Smoothie
Serves 1-2

5-6 large Organic Navel Oranges
1 Cup Fresh Spinach
Half to One Cup of Fresh Basil (or cilantro)
a squeeze of lemon juice, if desired

Blend the oranges in a Vitamix or similar high powered blender. Add spinach and basil leaves, and blend till smooth. Pour into a mason jar, add a straw and let your drink it in like 2 seconds because its that. good.

2 thoughts on “The Amazing Orange Spinach Basil Smoothie

Leave a Reply

