Dessert / Eating / Food / Recipes

Vegan French Silk Pie- TO DIE FOR.

If you are looking for the richest, most chocolatey pie EVER, you’ve got it right here. I promise. I really really really promise.

If you are a sincere chocoholic, you will adore this. I did. My mom did. My dad did. My brother did. My brother’s basketball coach did. I had more than one piece a day. (oops). I just had to, because it was so incredibly good. I’d have to say this is the best chocolate based pie I’ve ever made. And its made with tofu! And as everyone will say, you cannot taste it.  There is so much chocolate in the mixture that I swear you can taste only chocolate, chocolate, and more chocolate.

Also, to make this pie even more crazy delicious, I did an oreo coookie crust (half golden oreos and half regular), and then did a whipped cream on top. A coconut whipped cream to be exact. Now, everything in this pie is vegan EXCEPT the oreos, so if you want to go crust-less, or use vegan sandwich cookies, or a vegan graham cracker crust I’m sure those would all be great. I, however, am not vegan and did not have vegan cookies on hand. So I settled for oreos. Tough life, right?

Now picture time!

And the reasoning behind this oreo picture is this: THIS OREO HAD THE MOST FILLING IN IT I HAD EVER SEEN! So that’s pretty awesome. And I ate it.
IMG_8096
Look at this crust… I mean, come on.
IMG_8099
IMG_8107
IMG_8110
IMG_8111
I had a hard time keeping my fingers out of this, so I just settled for eating every bit out of the vitamix.
IMG_8112
IMG_8115
Whip cream that pie. I highly recommend it! I even used coconut whipped cream!
IMG_8118

Vegan French Silk Pie
Adapted from Chocolate Covered Katie
Serves 8-10- very rich!

For crust:

20 oreos, graham crackers, etc (also may use prepared crust)
Enough oil of choice to moisten the mixture (I think I used about 1/4 of a cup)

For filling:

12.3 oz silken or firm tofu (I used Tj’s brand)
1 tsp cocoa powder (Do not omit, it REALLY makes the difference, so chocolatey.)
1 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 tablespoons milk of choice (I used almond)
scant 1/8 tsp salt
8 to 10 oz chocolate chips (a little over 1 and 1/3c or more)
2-3 tablespoons agave or other sweetener (I just 1 1/2 tablespoons of agave)

For whipped topping:

1 can full fat coconut milk or coconut cream (I used coconut cream) ***coconut milk needs to be refrigerated overnight*** *coconut cream only needs 3-4 hours*
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup powdered sugar, optional
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon, optional

Crush your oreos in either a plastic bag or in a food processor and combine with oil. Press into a pie pan and bake for about 10 minutes until set and golden brown. Set aside. Melt the chocolate (either on the stove or in the microwave), then throw everything into a food processor or vita mix and blend until super-smooth. Pour into the  pie crust. Set aside. For the coconut whipped topping, take the can out of the fridge and flip upside down. Then, if using coconut milk pour out the liquid for later use and put the white solids into a mixing bowl. If using coconut cream, pour out the little liquid and put the rest in the mixing bowl (preferably chilled). Begin to  whip until light and fluffy. Add the vanilla, and powdered sugar and cinnamon if using along the way. Spread over pie filling and then fridge until chilled.  It is really too easy! This pie will get firmer and firmer, the longer it sits. (It’s firmer if you use firm tofu and more like mousse pie if you use silken.) Also, the whipped topping will fall a bit, but it still tastes amazing, so don’t worry.

Enjoy!!

-Ari

20 thoughts on “Vegan French Silk Pie- TO DIE FOR.

  1. Gorgeous post! I’ve never been convinced by vegan sweet pies (I’m not vegan but I do try to cook healthy, plant based foods on a regular basis) but this one looks amazing! Love that glossy chocolate filling. Can’t believe it’s tofu based! xx

  2. Thanks for sharing! I can’t wait to make it. I thought I would also share with you that oreos are vegan. Also nutter butter cookies are vegan if you wanted to substitute and make this pie peanut-buttery.

  3. Wow, your recipes are looking great! (Long time no talk, btw!) Jw.. was it gross working with the tofu? I’ve been meaning to try some of CCK’s recipes, which I LOVE by the way, but using tofu always puts me off..

    • Thanks so much! Its been sooo difficult to blog lately because of finals next week, but I am going to be so happy once they are OVER. 🙂 Regarding the tofu, I just found silken tofu packets at Trader Joe’s and just popped them out of the container into the food processor. It was super easy, and it really did not taste like tofu AT ALL! I even tested it with many people who hate tofu 😉

  4. This looks like an amazing recipe! I’m having many of my friends try vegan food, and I’m making each of them a pie to take home. However, I’ve run into two problems. One, I will be making the pies at a friends house and I am not sure if the pie will set in time for them to take it home at night..? Also, I do own a blender and so does my friend, but neither are high quality or work particularly well. I was wondering if the whole mixing process could be done in a standing mixer? Or do you recommend I blend them in smaller increments so the blade wont become overworked? Thanks for the recipe! CANNOT wait to try it! 😉

    Ps: Absolutely LOVE the blog. Found it looking for a recipe, definitely coming back. 🙂

    • Oops, sorry I didn’t get to reply to this before you made them, but as for the mixing/blending issue, you do not want clumps of tofu in your pie, so definitely try the blending in smaller increments to ensure smooth, silky pie. It may be a pain, but it is SO worth it. The food processor also works beautifully! Also, as for allowing the pie to set, if you want it to set more quickly, the freezer is great. Maybe 3 hrs?

      -Ari

      P.S. Next time, try this as a vegan pudding! Put it into fancy bowls and top with fruit, or coconut whipped cream- you can even make layers!!

  5. The blender ended up working out better than I had expected! Im thinking about making this again, but layered on top of a (vegan) chocolate cake, with the coconut whip on top. I’m not sure how it will work out, but I am excited. I think using a spring form pan will do the trick.
    My friends love the pie too, by the way. I think this recipe will become a staple for when I have people over, but I will be sure to credit you for it. 😉

Leave a Reply

