Baking / Dessert / Eating / Food / Recipes

Strawberry Jelly Roll

Long time no see, unfortunately. But now, I come to you with a lovely strawberry jelly roll.

Honestly, I don’t know what came over me that caused me to want to make a jelly roll, but I did it, and it actually succeeded. And it was gone in a day and a half. Yeah.

Actually….I’m beginning to remember why I wanted to make a jelly roll. I wanted to make a beautiful, fancy, gorgeous layer cake, but I didn’t have the time or patience. Or butter, for that matter. So much butter….

I was thinking of other cake-y things as a result: you know- banana bread, pound cake, carrot cake, cupcakes…. None of them really sparked my interest though, so I went on the Internet. Of course. I don’t know how, but I came across a jelly roll filled with pastry cream. Now, I was planning on making the pastry cream, but on a school night….and the stove… and refrigerating…I honestly was not feeling it. I took the simpler route instead, and filled it with organic strawberry jam. I think other types of jam would be awesome in a jelly roll as well, possibly apricot, raspberry, or olallieberry?

Reflecting on the process of making it, it wasn’t hard at all! I think it simply looks daunting, but once you actually get into the recipe, per se, it becomes much easier. The hardest part was flipping the cake from the pan onto a towel. It was actually really scary. If you drop that cake, there is no cake. Bye bye cake.

So before you all get depressed at the thought of a beautiful cake on your kitchen floor, here are some pictures to liven your spirits:

IMG_7311
IMG_7313
How pretty is this:
IMG_7310

Recipe:
Strawberry Jelly Roll
From America’s Test Kitchen
Makes one jelly roll

¾ cup all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
¼ teaspoon salt
5 large eggs, room temperature
¾ cup granulated sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla extract
1¼ cups seedless jam
Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting

Adjust an oven rack to the lower-middle position and heat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease an 18 by 13-inch rimmed baking sheet, line the bottom with parchment paper, and grease the parchment. Whisk the flour, baking powder, and salt together in a medium bowl. In a large bowl, whip the eggs with an electric mixer on medium-high speed and gradually add the granulated sugar and then the vanilla, about 1 minute. Continue to whip the mixture until very thick and voluminous, 4 to 8 minutes. Sift the flour mixture over the egg mixture and fold in with a rubber spatula until just incorporated. Scrape the batter into the prepared baking sheet and spread out to an even layer. Bake the cake until it feels firm and springs back when touched, 12 to 17 minutes, rotating the pan halfway through baking. Remove the cake from the oven, run a knife around the edge of the cake to loosen it, then flip the hot cake out onto a large sheet of greased parchment paper. Peel off and discard the parchment paper that has baked onto the bottom of the cake. Starting from a short end of the cake, roll the cake and parchment snugly into a log and let cool seam side down, for 15 minutes. Gently unroll the cake. Spread the jam over the cake, leaving a ½-inch border at the edges. Reroll the cake gently but snugly around the jam, leaving the parchment behind as you roll. Trim the ends of the cake, transfer the cake to a platter, and let the cake cool completely, about 30 minutes. Dust with confectioners’ sugar before serving.

Enjoy!

-Ari

9 thoughts on “Strawberry Jelly Roll

  1. This looks delicious Ari! I’ve never made a rolled cake… frankly, I’ve been scared that the cake would crack dreadfully and the filling would ooze out everywhere! Yours looks gorgeous though. Perfectly rolled with delicious jammy filling (by the way, what is olallieberry jam?! I’ve never heard of it!). Lovely post! xx

    • You can do it! It was really fun, and as long as you don’t over bake the cake, it won’t crack. 🙂 If you do try it, let me know! Olallieberries are similar to blackberries, kind of like a blackberry and raspberry combined.

Leave a Reply

