Baking / Dessert / Eating / Food / Recipes

Kitchen Sink Cookies

My mom’s favorite kind of cookie, my dad’s, my brother’s… mine.

Yes, I admit, even though I cringe at my mom’s suggestion of making these cookies, they are really really good. You ask why I cringe? She only requests these cookies. Or coffee cake. Which means you’ll probably be seeing a coffee cake recipe soon. I’m due to make one apparently because she’s been bugging me more than usual lately about one. 🙂

Back to the cookies. They are incredibly easy (two bowls and a couple of spoons) and that’s all you have to clean! They are open to interpretation, and its probably really hard to make them taste bad. I love taking one of these cookies for lunch, or eating one as a snack… or just for dessert. YUM. They are really good. And I didn’t use butter, and you don’t miss it at all. Promise. I mean, you can if you’d like… but its less fat and less clogged arteries this way.

This cookie is moist, chewy, and I made mine thick and big. You could make them small, but what fun is that? No fun. That’s right, ITS NOT FUN. So make it fun, and make your cookies big. 🙂

Picture spam time!!

IMG_1046

IMG_1040

IMG_1038

IMG_1050

See the chocolate chips? The oats? The raisins? The walnuts? Oh my gosh. Yum.

Recipe:

Kitchen Sink Cookies

Yield: about 3 dozen

Adapted from Three Sides of Crazy

Ingredients:

1 cup sunflower seed or grapeseed oil

3/4 Cup peanut butter (if you want more pb flavor use 1 cup)

3/4 Cup sugar

3/4 Cup brown sugar, packed

1 Teaspoon baking soda

1 Teaspoon cinnamon, I always add more…

1/3 Cup shredded coconut

2 large eggs

1 Teaspoon vanilla

1 1/4 Cup flour

2 Cups rolled oats

2/3 Cup golden raisins

2/3 Cup chopped walnuts

2/3 Cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375.

Beat together the oil and peanut butter until combined, add the sugars and cream until smooth. Then add the eggs and vanilla to the mixture and beat until combine. In a separate small bowl, mix together the flour, coconut, oats, baking soda, baking powder, and cinnamon.  Add to the mixture. Mix in the raisins, walnuts, and chocolate chips. Using a cookie scoop or tablespoon,  drop cookies onto a prepared cookie sheet (I cover mine with parchment paper for easier clean-up) and bake for 8-10 minutes or until lightly golden brown around the edges. Let cool, then enjoy!!

Notes:

1. Store in Tupperware, with a piece of bread inside the container. Your cookies will stay soft and moist and chewy!

2. If you’re not a fan of raisins, or walnuts, or (gasp!) chocolate chips, add in equal amounts of whatever you please! I would suggest peanut butter cups, Reese’s pieces, M&M’s, white chocolate chips, dried cherries, slivered almonds, crushed butterfinger, etc. The possibilities are endless!

-Ari

